WINTER’S WONDERS

In a brief hour or two, the front yard is carpeted with a white blanket of snow.

2011 DECEMBER SNOW

The back yard has clouds of white on all the shrub branches. Once again our eleven year old pup’s collection of stray toys is hidden until the next thaw.

As I pour a cup of hot Earl Grey tea, my imagination starts to soar.Who would think that a gentle snowfall would make such a big impact!

On days like this, I get the urge to take out a pen or open a computer file to start writing, maybe even make a small book for one of my poems.

Also, I like to look back and read some words that the literary giants have given us on this topic of winter.

My all-time favourite is Robert Frost’s poem, Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening.

I also recall Louisa May Alcott‘s Little Women, a book that I have reread many times.

Listening to Vivaldi‘s compositions appeals to me on these snowy days, as well.  Joni Mitchell‘s song, River, is a great listen on wintry days. Sarah McLaughlin and Robert Downey, Jr. sing it well.

Last of all, I choose between The Snowman or A Child’s Christmas in Wales for a visual element to watch.

Might even get around to making some cookies; now, should that be shortbread or ginger molasses? Which would you choose?

Author: Patricia McGoldrick

Poet Writer Reviewer Environment, Nature, Agriculture, People, and History are favorite topics to write about. Upcycling materials into handmade books is a fun challenge!