WORLD MENTAL HEALTH DAY 2012

Yes, I know that World Mental Health Day 2012 was observed on October 10!

However, being slowed down with the common cold, I am a bit late in my posting about this day. Actually, I think that our whole year should be made consist of mental health days, days in which we do put that consideration first in our lives and supporting others for the same.

BEYOND THE DARK ROOM

In my life, writing is one of the ways that I have used to process life events. Just as some people bike, play music, I write. This year, as mentioned previously, I had the opportunity to contribute to a special anthology of transformative poetry, entitled Beyond the Dark Room. Available in paper and ebook copies at Amazon.com, it is a heartful collection of poems, written from many varied perspectives and experiences. There is a life journey in these poems. For a peak, stop by Amazon for a “look inside”

As I wrap up this post, I would like to affirm my belief in the everydayness of mental health as individuals and as members of our world community. Let’s look out for each other! Please check the video link in Related Articles–excellent animation!

FLOWERS WORK, TOO!
Author: Patricia McGoldrick

Poet Writer Reviewer Environment, Nature, Agriculture, People, and History are favorite topics to write about. Upcycling materials into handmade books is a fun challenge!

7 thoughts on “WORLD MENTAL HEALTH DAY 2012”

  1. Yes….writing is such a great way to navigate these spaces…I do it this way now, too. This statement is awesome, Patricia:

    “affirm my belief in the everydayness of mental health as individuals and as members of our world community. Let’s look out for each other!”

    I love the word everydayness and yes…we should take care of each other. What is heartbreaking is when the mentally ill will not let you take care of them…in denial they shut their loved ones out.

    Any way…I agree with you and commend you for shining your youness on this topic. ((hugs)) to you!

    Like

  2. Patricia – what a wonderful link in to World Mental Health Day – I too (obviously) have a strong belief in the cathartic, inspirational and yes transformational possibilities through writing. I have gotten some heart-warming feedback from people who feel that individual poems and the collection in its intent and entirety is very helpful to them as they reflect, withstand or move along beyond their own personal dark rooms.

    Like

Comments are closed.