APPLES OF AUTUMN!

Apples, for as long as I remember, were an integral part of autumn.

Now, I have to admit that I also liked apples in Spring! That led to my writing a poem titled Girls and Green Applespublished in the anthology shown in photo below. However, that was another time, another place. Today, I am thinking of apples closer to my present home.

Cover photo: taking a bite of the apple revelations

This year, with an ill-timed frost in the spring, the apple crop was impacted. The harvest was smaller but there are still many delicious apples to be had. Last week, I bought some Northern spy apples at the local market–great for pies! Add lots of cinnamon!

Sometimes, there is an apple that does not transform well into jelly or pie or applesauce. Our neighbours have such a tree with very tart crabapples. They do not work as jam or jelly but the squirrels have a feast! This poem is for them!

Under the Crabapple Tree

Well into autumn

a circle of green lawn is covered

with brown and red globes.

Hundreds of fallen crabapples are there for the picking–

brown and black squirrels chomp with glee!

 © 2012 Patricia Anne McGoldrick

*Inspired to focus on apples for http://withrealtoads.blogspot.ca/2012/10/open-link-monday_22.html

Related articles

Author: Patricia McGoldrick

Poet Writer Reviewer Environment, Nature, Agriculture, People, and History are favorite topics to write about. Upcycling materials into handmade books is a fun challenge!

10 thoughts on “APPLES OF AUTUMN!”

  1. Hi Patricia, I’m hoping this comment will reach you this time.

    What I really liked about this poem was how you tied the season to things we could appreciate through the senses: sight, taste and touch.

    Like

  2. Tails swishing, eyes darting as they sink their teeth in. I like watching them dig little holes and stick food in. In N.Michigan, we had black squirrels. But here in NC, just brown.

    Like

Comments are closed.