PET PEEVES!

For a Friday finish, I checked out the prompt at Imaginary Garden With Real Toads.

Four apples from the cultivar 'Petrovka', comp...
Four apples from the cultivar ‘Petrovka’, compared to an apple from the Golden delicious cultivar (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The topic of the day was one that I hadn’t thought about for a long time–pet peeves.

There are those little things that turn into annoyances, not so logical maybe but nevertheless, bothersome. Seems like we all have one or two or more of them.

This is one that came to mind for a poem.

Cautionary Note on Eating Apples

 Apples are my favourite fruit–

Red McIntosh

or

Golden Delicious

even

Brown Russet

Too.

Northern spy apples

are welcomed by me.

Just please do not crunch that morsel so round

Unless we are surrounded by other sounds

To drown out the crunch of that crisp apple munch!

 © 2012 by Patricia Anne McGoldrick

Written for Prompt at  Imaginary Garden with Real Toads prompt Mary’s Mixed Bag Pet Peeves

This poem might explain why I like apple desserts so much–apple pie, apple crisp, applesauce–with lots of cinnamon, my favourite spice!

Have a great weekend, All!:)

Related articles

Author: Patricia McGoldrick

Poet Writer Reviewer Environment, Nature, Agriculture, People, and History are favorite topics to write about. Upcycling materials into handmade books is a fun challenge!

16 thoughts on “PET PEEVES!”

  1. Oh, boy…I hear you! I hate the wrestling the chip bag..open the damn thing and get a bowl! There is something annoying about loud eating! ;D Well Done….it is extreme loud n’ irritating~

    Like

  2. Oh, yes, I know this very peeving sound very well! My husband and dog share an apple snack every night. Fortunately for me, they do it while the TV is on. I don’t like to listen to them eating, but the expression on the dog’s face while she munches a slice of apple is simply delicious!
    K

    Like

  3. This made me smile. I do think especially if a room very quiet other people’s crunching could annoy! Thanks for taking part in my challenge.

    Like

  4. This one made me giggle put loud. I’ve never, ever heard of anyone being even slight;y miffed someone eating an apple but, when you think about it, sometimes the crunch IS really loud…haha… thanks for the chucke.

    Like

Comments are closed.