TREES AND BRANCHES AND LIMBS, OH MY!

Irony is present in so many aspects of life. Today was no exception.                                          

Following a powerful thunderstorm, I was pleased to see a new poetry prompt by Mariya Koleva–Branch of a Tree . How ironic to find this prompt.  Fallen tree branches and limbs dot the landscape of our city. We were spared major damages but many people experienced the wrath of fierce winds as they took down tall trees, fences, even rooftops.

Trees are such an integral part of life, it seems to me.

IMG_0961
2013 SILVER MAPLE

I am thrilled to look out the window of my writing room  each day to see the changing beauty of this amazing maple tree in all seasons.

Thankful to be spared, I wrote a poem in response to this timely prompt.

HAIKU ON JULY STORM

 

wind has subsided

silver maple tree stands tall

I exhale with thanks

 

© 2013 Patricia A. McGoldrick

 

Author: Patricia McGoldrick

Poet Writer Reviewer Environment, Nature, Agriculture, People, and History are favorite topics to write about. Upcycling materials into handmade books is a fun challenge!