TREES–STRENGTH

Trees are an inspiration for me, a source of strength and quiet, a sense of solitude.

TREE TREASURE!
TREE TREASURE!

Whether they are outside or in a painting by Homer Watson or in a work by Edward Steichen “Coopers Bluff – Moonlight Strollers” (detail) 1905, trees are amazing!

Wrote this poem in response to a prompt at IGWRT.

WORD SPACE

 

The walls of my room are covered

in apricot wash and creamy coconut trim

Here I come each day to write

at the oak desk with computer and

a place for paper and pen

a window looking out on the silver maple

lot of light shining in.

 

When I enter the room

at the start of each day

I look to the dark green in the frame on the wall

And I smile just to see

Homer Watson’s trees

swaying in the breeze

in a painting done so long ago.

 

Today’s words start to flow.

© 2013 Patricia A. McGoldrick

Author: Patricia McGoldrick

Poet Writer Reviewer Environment, Nature, Agriculture, People, and History are favorite topics to write about. Upcycling materials into handmade books is a fun challenge!

28 thoughts on “TREES–STRENGTH”

  1. I often use trees to frame my photos and if you google “Moonlight Strollers” the full-sized image is framed by a lovely branch – cropped and used only a “detail” so your poem is even more appropriate than you know (or perhaps you do).

    Like

  2. Yes, it’s always amazing to me how the light and feel of the past is captured to live on in paintings–I also love trees, and here their beneficent influence, peace and beauty really shine.

    Like

  3. So sad about the silver maple that was lost. Still, your tale of a maple that survived is filled with dreamy images of creation, of inspiration, and of hope. Thank you for a bud of beauty this morning… or should I say, a sapling? Amy

    Like

    1. So wonderful to capture these moments or to find nature in the works of others such as these artists. I like the way that their older pieces still reach out to us. Homer Watson’s studio home is now an art gallery that I visit with family but the grounds are surrounded by the hustle and bustle of a growing city. His pastoral landscapes are treasures! 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.