VIRTUAL BLOG TOUR FROM ONTARIO — WRITING PROCESS!

Hello to all on June 16!

2014 ON DECK FOR CONTAINER GARDEN & WRITING
2014 ON DECK FOR CONTAINER GARDEN & WRITING

This post is part of a virtual blog tour to which Pamela Smyk Cleary, a Connecticut poet whom I have been following for a few years now, invited me. To quote from her profile, Pamela is a Dabbler in photography, nature, plants and flowers…who shares many a poem and photo on her blog at http://wanponpopix.blogspot.ca. Drop by for a peak!

Writing Process for me – a bit of this and that! 

1)    What am I working on?

A bit of this and that sums up my current writing here in Ontario, Canada. I keep a small notebook nearby for writing down some poems that are inspired by the day. At this time of year, while enjoying a cup of coffee on the deck, I am treated to a lot of sights and sounds that often lead to a poem or two. You can check out some of these titles through links on my author site .

There are a few ongoing projects, as well:

  • Poetry chapbook – sorting through a maze of poems to find an overall or connecting theme
  • Fiction – short stories, maybe something a bit longer, depending on the directions my characters take
  • Blog – continue to post at PM27’s blog
  • Handmade books – upcycling previously used materials into small books, homes for my poems

2) How does my work differ from others of its genre?

Not sure about this one as many poets write in free verse, unstructured lines. The themes for my writing tend to focus on the everyday –nature, people, and events. Also, I write poems and essays about the growing up years in rural southwestern Ontario.Thought I would share a link about Garafraxa, my childhood home in Ontario Canada, just a couple of hours from Buffalo.

3) Why do I write what I do? 

Since childhood, as a reader and writer, I have been drawn to words, fascinated by their sounds and connections, everything from nursery rhymes and lullabies to folk and rock music, novels and non-fiction. Writing has always seemed like a natural activity to me, one that I chose to pursue ever more as I grew older with writing poetry and prose.

I continue to write as the spirit moves me.

4) How does my writing process work?

Inspiration comes from many sources from people to nature to events. For the actual writing, I prefer to use blank pages in a notebook or journal, and, more and more, I compose on the computer screen.

Music and colour and pictures inspire me. In my writing, I am inspired by words of Spanish artist Joan Miró who said I try to apply colors like words that shape poems, like notes that shape music”. His words resonate with me so much that I placed this quote in the sidebar of my blog! 

Mind mapping, with a variety of colours and directions, is useful for organizing my writing plans. This technique, developed in recent decades, combines well for many who have discovered through surveys that they are very focused on the visual aspect of learning and writing.

Overall, I have been inspired by other writers, both fiction, non-fiction and poetry writers.

Thanks again to Pamela for inviting me to take part in this event.

Claudette Young Author Bio Photo
Claudette Young Author Bio Photo

In turn, I have invited Claudette J. Young (known to some as Claudsy) to join in with a post on June 23. Claudette is a prolific writer in various genres, summed up well here in her bio. Check it out!

Claudette J. Young began writing seriously in 2008 and continues to write in multiple genres. She strives to learn something new each day—a new poetry form, new writing technique, new foreign word, or whatever strikes her fancy. Her primary genres are poetry, science fiction/fantasy, flash fiction, children’s literature, and women’s fiction, along with creative non-fiction, essay, and memoir. She tries to cover all of her bases by writing for audiences that range from young children to senior citizens.

Claudette has been published in numerous online publications for poetry, fiction, and non-fiction, as well as print magazines and two international poetry anthologies. She continues to hone her craft by working on multiple projects, including book-length ones. Her regular work can be viewed on her collaborative website and blogs at: http://2voices1song.com/ as well as www.claudettejyoung.com/

 

Thanks for dropping by this virtual blog tour. Please continue the tour next week at Claudette’s blog listed above.

 

Next stop: Northwest Montana!

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Patricia McGoldrick

Poet Writer Reviewer Environment, Nature, Agriculture, People, and History are favorite topics to write about. Upcycling materials into handmade books is a fun challenge!

16 thoughts on “VIRTUAL BLOG TOUR FROM ONTARIO — WRITING PROCESS!”

  1. Hi Patricia, gosh you’ve made me miss writing poems now! My life gets so out of hand and I forget how satisfying it is to craft a poem. I also write in free verse and usually follow the Sunday whirl words. I’m always in a panic between seventeen projects and so having those 12 words as a beginning structure really helps. Maybe when I get to E and life is a bit calmer. 🙂 Your writing process is so wonderfully organised. I’ve taught C how to mind map for her university papers and it’s helped her so much. Fantastic method, isn’t it? Also, I can’t write in cursive to save my life. Actually, I can, but can’t read it after…lol… so usually write on the pc. (I think the Dr of the Dr’s daughter has subbed off on me somehow. My parent’s have some spectacular writing.) Love Pamela, love Claudsy…off to visit them now. x

    Like

  2. Patricia, I’m so glad to see your post and to have been invited to share in the fun next week. I find it interesting that most of us aren’t so different in what inspires us and how we relate to the world at large and to writing in particular.

    This was a wonderful post. Thank you for sharing your process with us all. I look forward to doing my own.

    PS: I’m with PSC on the additional links idea. Kudos on that idea.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Patricia. Now if I can get someone to follow me, we’re in good shape. 🙂 I’ve got it finished, sort of. Ready for final touches. 🙂

      Like

  3. “I continue to write as the spirit moves me.”

    I love this and your sources of inspiration…there’s so much to be drawn from nature, people and events.

    I’m so thrilled the tour stopped in your neck of the woods, Patricia! Thank you for sharing your process with your readers!! 🙂

    Happy Almost summer to you…I love the picture of your deck and container garden! Gorgeous.

    Like

  4. Fantastic! So glad I chose you for a stop along the tour, Patricia! I enjoyed reading about Garafraxa and your childhood and seeing how these come through in your writing. LOVED the sweet childhood memories of your dad & poetry and jump rope & Double Dutch!

    I left a number of comments along the way (I hope they “took” – I can never be sure), and I still have a bunch of your previously published links to visit. There are many I have missed, as I am always behind in my reading. :-/ Also, looking forward to Claudsy’s stop in Northwest Montana next week! (Great choice!) Thank you for a wonderful stop along the tour!

    ps: LOVE your idea of adding other stops along the tour as “related links”. Planning to update my Writers’ Tour posting with this information as well — to keep the chain going. Nice!

    Like

Comments are closed.