PORTALS OF ENDURANCE

Endurance is the photo challenge theme this week.

So many things come to mind when considering this theme.

For inspiration, I decided to take a look at some of my photo files from the last few years. Nature predominates in my photos, I see. However, there are some pictures of architectural designs and constructs that really caught my interest.

When I was visiting Europe for my first and only time, I was drawn to some of the buildings and elements that had survived wars and turbulence. In Ypres, particularly, I noted many doors. The door in this photo that I took seemed to belong to another age, so solid and heavy.

To me, this portal represents endurance in a very tangible way, similar to the bright poppies that continue to thrive in the Belgian terrain scarred by WWI. I think of John McCrae‘s poem, In Flanders Fields , a poem that has become another enduring symbol of the First World War.

Looking back, I wonder how many 21st century doors and poems and poppies will survive the decades and centuries as I post this photo. Hmm…. 🙂

RED POPPY REMINDERS
RED POPPY REMINDERS
YPRES DOOR
YPRES DOOR
Author: Patricia McGoldrick

Poet Writer Reviewer Environment, Nature, Agriculture, People, and History are favorite topics to write about. Upcycling materials into handmade books is a fun challenge!

4 thoughts on “PORTALS OF ENDURANCE”

Comments are closed.