PIANO PLAY!

In the lull between seasonal celebrations, I am posting one more time for 2014 on my blog.

2014 Rosemary & Remembrance
2014 Rosemary & Remembrance

As this year ends, I want to share the good news that one of my poems has been published online at Red Wolf Journal.

For the journal’s Winter issue theme of Play, I contributed my poem, Competition in the Key of S Minor. Happy to say that it was posted today at their site, link listed below.

My play poem, is inspired by a childhood realization that occurred to me when I was about 10 years old, my younger sibling was about 8.

Learning to play the piano was a tradition in our family. Each us, in turn, tried to master playing the upright piano. This, of course, meant that we were expected to practise for piano lessons!!!

My younger sister and I were the last of the line to take piano lessons. I distinctly recall the one day that our youngest family member sat on the piano stool and played a rendition of Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious (spelling?) with minimal effort.  It was clear to me that playing the piano was, and is, a gift.

Fortunately, my sister’s talent to pick up and play a tune without practising increased as years passed. That joy of music has been shared with all of us at family gatherings and with the students she teaches at school. Play on, Sis! 🙂

Poem link: http://redwolfjournal.wordpress.com/2014/12/27/competition-in-the-key-of-s-minor-by-patricia-mcgoldrick

 

Author: Patricia McGoldrick

Poet Writer Reviewer Environment, Nature, Agriculture, People, and History are favorite topics to write about. Upcycling materials into handmade books is a fun challenge!