BUTTER TARTS ANEW?

HAPPY 2015!  

The holiday season draws to a close with lots of good memories of family times spent together.

During these busy days, we shared gifts and laughter & food. However as most of you know who have hosted such times, there is a lot of advance preparation.

FAVOURITE RECIPES!
FAVOURITE RECIPES!

For our family, I looked to my traditional favourite recipe books for those recipes that have stood the test of time and taste. I did try a new-for-me version of butter tarts. Rather than following the usual recipe from a book and unable to just whip up the new batch from memory as my mother used to do, I tried a new recipe that I had clipped from a newspaper.

BUTTER TARTS!
BUTTER TARTS!

I am not averse to trying new recipes, however, this one had an unexpected result. Some of the long-awaited butter tarts, typically amber gold in colour like this one, had some small pale blobs on the surface when I took them out of the oven. Turns out that the eggs had not mixed in with the other ingredients. Dismayed to say the least, I taste-tested one. The sweetness was there but, one small portion carried a taste that was closer to French toast than melt-in-your mouth butter tarts. I wondered how to proceed. Should I camouflage the delicacies with vanilla ice cream, a dollop of whipped cream? What to do? Sadly in the rush to set the table, dessert did not get further consideration before it was plated. My usual blue ribbon butter tarts caused a few chuckles at the table before brave spirits took some bites. They were not disappointed but the experience for me was not great.

Sometimes it is better to stay with the old, out with the new!

Note: My first post for this year is written in response to the theme “new” at https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_photo_challenge/new/.

Author: Patricia McGoldrick

Poet Writer Reviewer Environment, Nature, Agriculture, People, and History are favorite topics to write about. Upcycling materials into handmade books is a fun challenge!

2 thoughts on “BUTTER TARTS ANEW?”

    1. Thanks, Susie! I have a few recipe cards for some items but the ones that she baked from memory are not among them. I do have the memory of seeing her mix together a few ingredients in a bowl with a delicious end result. Tea biscuits & butter tarts were the favourites! 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.